medication and fear


“In fact, many women who choose to labor without medication do so because they fear the consequences of unnecessary intervention, including the trauma and postbirth pain of cesarean section.” Ina May Gaskin

I love this quote. People often ask me if I’m scared of the pain of childbirth or the iconic inquiry about whether I think I’ll get a medal for giving birth without drugs. The truth is I have more fear of getting a needle in my back or the well-known hallucinatory effects of narcotics during labor than the actual pain that my body was designed to handle. Aside, no one in our culture thinks about the effects of pain medication on baby, or should I say that providers don’t educate women on the risks to their babies from pain medication during labor and in a culture where pain relief is the expected norm many women don’t even realize that this is something they should be researching themselves.

About vba2c

Mom to two. Heading down a journey to VBA2C. I want to share all the obstacles, victories and resources I encounter to help other women like me! View all posts by vba2c

Leave a Reply

